If you have ever connected to public Wi-Fi networks, you probably noticed how the Finder sidebar was filled with unfamiliar computers and network resources. This is what the “shared” folders are using.

In macOS, by default, a user share is created for each account. It has very limited access rights to provide secure, and at the same time convenient file sharing with other users on your local network.

But unfortunately, this useful feature can be undesirable in case you often work in public networks, with a large number of foreign computers and sometimes users scarred appeared of  “BRCM-LVG” under Shared section!

What is BRCM-LVG?

Do not worry, it is a wireless storage setup from the Internet Router or Modem, you have been connected. You could faced the same problem after getting a new ISP “Time Warner Cable” or installing technicolor router or modem. As well as this phenomenon can look like a technicolor brcm-lvg & brcm-lvg netgear and in fact this is the same bug.

How to disable BRCM-LVG, I will tell you in this article.

Whether shared folders are displayed on your Mac depends on the presence of the guest account and its settings, well, actually on the inclusion of the file sharing feature itself.

How to Delete BRCM-LVG?

The shutdown procedure is quite simple and the same in all versions of OSX or macOS. Here is what we need to do:

  • Open System Preferences;
  • Go to the Sharing section;
  • Select File Sharing in the sidebar;
  • In the Shared Folders select the shared folder and press the button “-”;
  • Confirm the deletion of the shared folder and click OK in the dialog box;
  • Repeat this procedure for all folders that you want to remove from public access.

This advice is often recommended to Mac owners, who operate primarily on public networks, as an additional measure of security and privacy. Of course, no one will be able to access your user files anyway (unless you store them in a shared folder), but theoretically, if you want, they can copy it into your ~/Public folder.

Read more: How to Block Any Incoming Network Connections in macOS?

It is important to remember that Public Folders are very limited by default, and even if you leave them turned on, strict restrictions are imposed on them. First, users must be on the same network to access them. Secondly, you will need to assign access rights (read / write) for public folders so that other users can see them. In addition, many users very often do not even suspect the existence of shared folders and, as a rule, they are always empty. You can always check if something is stored in your public folders by opening General in the Finder (most likely it will be empty there).

So is it Worth Turning Sharing Off?

Still in doubt? Well, Apple leaves it on by default, but because Apple is very sensitive about security, so access to folders is very limited and the maximum that attackers can do with your files is to view them or copy them. If you are still a frequent user of public networks, you can use the above advice and disable Shared folder. Well, if your Mac connects only to your home, corporate or school network, you can leave it on.

Conclusion

In the end, you can disable the standard protocols for the exchange of AFP and SMB, by unchecking the corresponding checkboxes in the Sharing panel, this will allow you to completely disable sharing, and not just Shared folders.

This is how things are with macOS Shared Access, dear readers. I hope the article turned out to be interesting for you and you learned some useful information from it.

It’s the best time to ask questions and give us your feedback in comments.

Author

Hi there! My Name is Vincent Lago! My goal is to share insightful reviews, guides, and manuals for people looking to know more about current solutions for Apple hardware and OS. I have years of technological background knowledge including owning a custom iMacs & PCs which was using for different types of business. And now, I want to share my experience with you.

Write A Comment